Weekly diary, September 3rd, 2014

by michaelhodges3

This week has been a quiet one, spying-wise.  The talk and hints I have noticed suggest that the ideas floating around are similar to how they have been for a long time.

There is something wrong with watching or listening to spying footage in itself, but also something wrong with watching or listening and not having the guts to be open about it.  It’s not just about me, it’s about society.  What kind of society do we want?  What kind of society do we have?  What kind of society are we likely to have in the future?  It’s very difficult for a spying society to be a good society.

I don’t think it’s as simple as saying that spying customers must all be bad or evil people.  Some of them probably are, but I have reason to believe that some are good people, and people in positions of trust.  I think that maybe the spying strikes at some kind of psychological Achilles’s heel: it’s intriguing, and interesting, and not that wrong, surely?  I just want to see what happens next.  And anyway, everyone else is doing it, so why shouldn’t I?

It is about me on one level; about my rights as a UK citizen, and as a human being, but it’s also about things bigger than me.  This spying business is a kind of festering sore.  The poison is covered by a thin skin of secrecy, which allows the festering to continue.  And it’s society, justice and transparency that are being damaged as a result.

Take care,

Michael

